District and Local Administration

Kamrup District comprises two sub- divisions namely, Guwahati and Rangia. Below this level, there are 8 Revenue Circles under Guwahati sub-division and 3 Revenue Circles under Rangia sub-division.

Furthermore, from developmental angle, the district is divided into 14 Development Blocks. Below the block level set-up, there are 139 Gaon Panchayats, each comprising of a number of villages and governed by local-self bodies.

  • Local Administration
  • Details of Circles, Blocks and Gaon Panchayats can be found in the page titled "At a Glance"

    District Administration :-

    The District Administration is headed by the Deputy Commissioner. He also acts as the Collector in case of Revenue matters, as District Magistrate in case of maintenance of Law and Order and General Administration, as District Election Officer in case of conduct of Election and so on. The Deputy Commissioner is aided by a number of Officers like Additional Deputy Commissioner, Sub-divisional Officers, Extra Assistant Commissioners and others.

    Top of Page

    Revenue Administration has historically been the primary responsibility of the District Administration. This involves collection and fixing of land revenue, registration, mutation and overall management in regard to land matters - private and public. Besides the Revenue Branch of the Deputy Commissioner's Office, which is looked after by the Additional Deputy Commissioner (Revenue), there are 11 outlying Revenue Circles in the district, supervised by Circle Officers. The Mouzadars under the Circle Officers are responsible for collecting land revenue (Khazna) from land owners (pattadars). All the Circle Officers are required to submit 'doul' (demand of revenue) to DC, and after his approval, Mouzadars are to collect revenue as per demand.

    Top of Page

    Apart from Revenue matters, District Development is one very important objective of the District Administration. As head of the District Administration, the DC is responsible for all-round developmental activities in the district under various programmes such as MP's Local Area Fund (MPLAD), MLA's fund, Untied Fund, Sub-divisional Plan Scheme Fund, Border Area Development Fund and so on. For this work, the DC assigns the A.D.C. (Development) the specific task of looking after and coordinating various developmental activities undertaken in various sectors. The ADC (Development) is aided in this matter by the Decentralised Planning Cell of the DC's office. All development departments in the district, like PWD, Irrigation, Health, Education and many others work inco-ordination and a District Development Committee (DDC) headed by D.C. has been in place to ensure this coordination. Under the Government policy of rapid upliftment of rural population, a District Rural Development Agency (DRDA) is functioning in the district which has the DC as the Chairman and one Project Director as its functional head. All schemes for Rural Development are implemented by this agency and in this work, it is aided by the 15 (fifteen) Development Blocks situated in outlying rural areas of the district. These Development Blocks are supervised by Block Development Officers (BDOs) and Senior BDOs.

    Top of Page

    Maintenance of Law & Order is another important aspect of the district administration and the DC, also being the D.M., is responsible for proper maintenance of the same. The DC is aided by the Additional Deputy Magistrates (ADM), Sub-Divisional Magistrates (SDM) and Executive Magistrates (EM). The Circle Officers of the Circles also function as Executive Magistrates and are responsible for maintenance of Law & Order in their respective circle areas. The DM and other magistrates take necessary assistance from the police department when such necessity arises. District Police Administration is headed by the Superintendent of Police. The police department has an infra-structure of 12(twelve) police stations in the district.

    Top of Page

    Deputy Commissioners of Kamrup District since 1945





    N.N. Phukan, ACS 1945 1947 -

    A. Bhattacharji, ACS 1947 1948 -
    M. Sultan, IAS 1948 1949 -
    V.C. Roy, IAS 1949 1951 -
    S.J.D. Carvalho, ICS 1951 1952 -
    B.C. Kapoor, IAS 1952 1956 -
    Altaf Ahmed, IAS 1956 1958 -
    R.K. Srivastava, IAS 16-04-1958 15-11-1959 -
    P.L. Shome, IAS 16-11-1959 04-07-1960 -
    G.C. Phukan, IAS 05-07-1960 12-11-1962 -
    P.H. Trivedi, IAS 21-11-1962 17-09-1963 -
    K.K. Phukan, IAS 18-09-1963 17-01-1966 -
    M.N. Gogoi, IAS 18-01-1966 31-08-1966 -
    K. Saigal, IAS 01-09-1966 18-02-1968 -
    C.R. Krishnamurty, IAS 19-02-1968 05-12-1968 -
    A. K. Saikia, IAS 06-12-1968 07-05-1969 -
    A. K. Choudhury, IAS 08-05-1969 28-09-1972 -
    B. Baruah, IAS 29-09-1972 04-12-1973 -
    B. P. Singh, IAS 05-12-1973 21-09-1975 -
    A. C. Sarma, ACS 22-09-1975 18-05-1976 -
    C. P. Misra, IAS 19-05-1976 25-01-1978 -
    K. C. Majumdar, IAS 26-01-1978 09-05-1978 -
    P. K. Dutta, IAS 10-05-1978 23-04-1979 -
    J. P. Rajkhowa, IAS 23-04-1979 08-01-1980 -
    K. Bora, IAS 08-01-1980 11-07-1980 -
    S. K. Agnihotri, IAS 11-07-1980 11-06-1984 -
    Pratul Sarmah, IAS 11-06-1984 03-01-1986 -
    C. K. Das, IAS 03-01-1986 18-01-1989 -
    U. N. Bhuyan, IAS 18-01-1989 10-04-1991 -
    N. N. Baruah, IAS 10-04-1991 11-12-1991 -
    J. I. Kathar, ACS 11-12-1991 02-11-1993

    Kumar S. Krishna, IAS 02-11-1993 08-07-1996

    Sanjeeva Kumar, IAS 08-07-1996 12-05-1998

    P. R. Das, ACS, I/C 12-05-1998 22-05-1998 photo
    D. N. Saikia, IAS 22-05-1998 02-07-2001

    A. K. Absar Hazarika, ACS 02-07-2001 18-02-2003

    Samir K. Sinha, IAS 18-02-2003 04-03-2005

    Ganesh Kr. Kalita, ACS 04-03-2005 21-09-2006

    R. C. Jain, ACS 21-09-2006 01-01-2010

    S. K. Roy, ACS 01-01-2010 01-07-2013

    Dr. J. Balaji, IAS 01-07-2013 11-05-2015

    Shri Vinod Seshan, IAS 11-05-2015 13/10/2017

    Shri Kamal Kumar Baishya, ACS 13-10-2017 till date.

    Top of Page

    Local Administration :-

    For management and Implementation of various developmental schemes, elected bodies are constituted at the level of Corporation, Municipality and Town Committees for Urban Areas and Panchayat Bodies for the rural areas.

    As for the rural areas in Kamrup District, a hierarchy of local administrative bodies is in place with Zila Parishad at the top (Sub-division level) followed by Anchalik and Gaon Panchayats which cover a total number of 1024 villages in the District.

    Top of Page

    National Informatics Centre

    Site designed & developed by :National Informatics Centre, Kamrup District Centre (Assam)
    Content provided & updated by District Administration, Kamrup (Assam)

    Email address of NIC, Kamrup:  kamrup[at]nic[dot]in
     Email address of Deputy Commissioner, Kamrup: